This year’s National Acquisitions Group (NAG) Award for Excellence has been won by Nottingham Trent University for their pilot service to streamline acquisition services for the benefit of their students.

The Nottingham Trent University pilot scheme aims to provide final year undergraduates and taught postgraduate students with the titles they need, when they need them, to support their dissertation research. Feedback has been overwhelmingly positive with comments such as “amazing”, “great service” and “fantastic” being used and steps are now being taken to transition the scheme into a core part of the Library’s service.

The scheme was introduced following synthesis of feedback from surveys and interactions with users where the importance of immediate or fast access to key titles was stressed. It made available, for immediate access, 56,000 additional e-books by working with five major academic publishers to provide evidence based acquisition e-book packages appropriate to final year study.

Mark Toole, Head of Libraries and Learning Resources at Nottingham Trent University, said: “This imaginative use of new business models and digital technology ensures we can enhance our support for the wider reading of students working on their dissertations. The new service has had a positive impact on many students, evidenced by unsolicited testimonials and a sharp increase in student satisfaction.”

The award’s judging panel received a number of high quality applications, all from teams doing innovative work to develop the acquisitions process through the use of technology. Although the Nottingham Trent University project is not dissimilar to initiatives being run by other Universities, it focused on a particular group and used a number of ideas to deliver results. They were also able to present clear evidence of their success.

Simon Skinner, Sales Director of Discovery and Commerce Solutions – Nielsen Book, commented “Nielsen Book is proud to sponsor the NAG award for the fifth year. The NAG Award offers a great opportunity to recognise and celebrate success and innovation within library acquisitions. Nielsen would like to thank NAG and the judging panel for their work and to congratulate Nottingham Trent University for their achievement”.

About this Award:

Designed to promote excellence, original thinking and innovation by a library or individual within the field of Bibliographic Services and Acquisitions, the NAG Excellence Award is sponsored by Nielsen and is in its fifth year. The previous winners are Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea Public Library Service (2011), Graham Stone, Dave Pattern and Briony Heyhoe-Pullar representing the University of Huddersfield (2012), Derbyshire County Council Libraries and Heritage Division (2013) and Guildhall Library (2014).

This year’s award was presented at the NAG Annual Conference which took place at the Royal York Hotel in York from Monday 14 to Tuesday 15 September 2015. #NAG2015

NAG award

For further information contact:

Mo Siewcharran, Director of Marketing and Communications, Nielsen Book

t: +44 (0)1483 712 300 or email:

Jennie Hillyard, Administrator, NAG


About NAG

NAG is a voice for everyone from all sectors associated with library and information resources: Chief Officers, librarians, publishers and service suppliers – providing leadership and a source of shared expertise for its membership in the public, academic and private sectors.

For more information about Nielsen Book’s unique range of library services and solutions click here: